Home Page

Our Vision


The curriculum at Christ the King is designed to provide a broad and balanced education that meets the needs of all pupils and gives them the skills, knowledge and understanding to prepare them for their future lives. We are committed to meeting the requirements of the primary National Curriculum underpinned by the Gospel Virtues.


The curriculum will be taught with the consideration of the needs of all learners. Our curriculum will be exciting and will inspire children to nurture a passion for learning. It ensures that academic success, creativity and problem solving, reliability, responsibility and resilience, as well as physical development, well-being and mental health are key elements that support the development of the whole child and promote a positive attitude to learning. The curriculum celebrates the diversity and utilises the skills, knowledge and cultural wealth of the community while supporting the pupils’ spiritual, moral, social and cultural development.


If you require further information relating to the curriculum we teach, please speak to your class teacher.

At the end of each Key Stage the children are formally assessed according to the guidance for all state-funded schools. The children are assessed in RE, English, Mathematics and Science and this is documented and reported to parents. If you wish to see the official data take a look in our ‘Key Information’ section of the website. We use Insight Tracker to track pupils’ attainment and progress in each year group.



Our EYFS classes (Nursery 2 and Reception) follow the curriculum suggested through the EYFS Framework and Development Matters. This Curriculum gives our youngest pupils the necessary beginning to their school career to prepare them for the more formal National Curriculum in Year 1. Children at Christ the King are also exposed to Read, Write Inc. We ensure a balance between explorative learning and development emergent skills to allow pupils to develop at their own pace.


There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years’ settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

  • communication and language

  • physical development

  • personal, social and emotional development

We must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • literacy (reading, writing, spelling, grammar through correct speech and sentence development etc)

  • mathematics

  • understanding the world

  • expressive arts and design


Year 1 to 6

The information from EYFS is shared with Year 1 staff to support a smooth transition into the main National Curriculum. Years 1 – 6 will have access to the following statutory and non-statutory subjects during the course of the school year:

  • English

  • Mathematics

  • RE

  • Science

  • Computing

  • PE

  • History

  • Geography

  • PSHE

  • Art & Design

  • Design & Technology

  • Music

  • Spanish (our selected Foreign Language

At Christ the King, our children engage with all subjects of the National Curriculum either as weekly subjects or in a block of intense learning. The approach we use allows all pupils to have the maximum opportunity to attain and to enjoy their learning through a range of exciting and valuable learning experiences. All pupils have access to the same opportunities in their own age group and those who need additional support and intervention will receive it.


Our subject overviews on the school website detail the topics for each term in each year group.

To view the National Curriculum document please go to: